Driving without insurance is very serious and is something that could result in motorists being penalized financially or legally. Auto policies are designed to protect drivers, however, many people still take the huge risk of driving without insurance coverage. The National Safety Council reports that each year 1 in 11 drivers will be involved in some type of motor vehicle accident, which could end up costing anywhere from $70,000 to more than $1.5 million, depending on the type of injuries. The high cost of motor vehicle accident injuries is just one of the reasons why driving without insurance is not recommended. When it comes to liability for a car accident, the state of Oklahoma follows a traditional “fault” or “tort” system, which means that the person who was at fault for the accident is liable for any and all personal injury or property damage stemming from the crash. In most cases, the person’s insurance policy will become involved and satisfy this liability. However, if the driver who is at fault is uninsured, they will be personally responsible for covering the damages. As an Oklahoma car accident attorney, we are here to help you navigate the legal system and understand your rights. If you or someone you love has been involved in a car accident and you or the other party does not have an auto insurance policy, contact us today.
Oklahoma’s Car Insurance Requirements
The following is a brief explanation of Oklahoma’s insurance requirements. The minimum coverage a driver is required to carry is:
- $25,000 for the injury or death of one person (this includes yourself, a passenger, another driver, a cyclist, a pedestrian, etc)
- $50,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in a single accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Please note that these are the minimum amounts required by law and it is generally recommended to carry a policy with higher coverage limits, as the medical bills that come after a serious accident typically exceed the above listed dollar amounts.
Type of Insurance Coverage
There are several different types of insurance coverage that drivers may choose from. Due to the unpredictable nature of auto accidents, it is recommended that all drivers have one of the following types of car insurance:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
- Collision Coverage
- Comprehensive Coverage
- Liability Coverage and Property Damage
- Medical Payment Coverage
- Personal Injury Protection Coverage
To learn more about these types of insurance and to select the right fit for you, contact your local insurance company.
The Top Dangers of Driving Uninsured
Here is a look at the top dangers associated with driving uninsured in the state of Oklahoma:
- Uninsured drivers cannot sue for pain and suffering damages
- Uninsured drivers must pay for all of their own medical bills
- Uninsured drivers cannot be reimbursed for lost wages
- Uninsured drivers must pay for all of the damage to their own vehicle
- Uninsured drivers are at risk of being sued and held personally liable to pay for another person’s pain and suffering damages, medical bills, lost wages, and vehicle damage
- Uninsured drivers can be sentenced to jail for up to one year and ordered to pay a fine between $200 and $500
- Uninsured drivers could have their license suspended or revoked
As an Oklahoma car accident attorney, we understand the serious risks of driving without insurance and highly recommend all parties who operate a motor vehicle have some type of insurance policy. To learn more about our state’s law regarding uninsured drivers, contact Atkins & Markoff today.